Is Nappy Hair a Crime?


I have always tried to put my best foot forward when it came to appearance.  You know; no chipped nail polish, shined my shoes, pressed my clothes well so that I didn’t have “cat tracks”, and took care of those nappy edges.

Since I am in transition from relaxed hair to a natural hairstyle that last hallmark of good grooming has been abandoned.  I have to rest my hair before it is locked and have been admonished by my loctician (with fire in her eyes), not to heat style my hair.  So consequently, I have a few beady-bs goin’ on.  Some people have remarked on my status, to which I told them my story, and they were fine. 

The ones that I am concerned for are those who either refuse to make eye contact, as if they are witnessing something shameful or those who really want to ask me what the h_ll is going on.  Some have touched my hand and told me in hushed tones, “We all have been there and you will come through”.  I muttered thank you and looked puzzled, and then I realized it was the hair! 

I really did not think it looked “that bad”, not bad at all since this is a plan not an accident or a bad hair experience. Nevertheless, thinking back, this is out of character for the old me.  I had to be sick, depressed or something on those lines to come out of the house with the tresses less than perfect.  I have spent many hours perming, dyeing, cutting and styling, chasing after the illusion of being as my Mama called it—presentable!

That is so sad!  Is presentable the most that a nappy headed child could hope for? Are the adjectives beautiful and lovely reserved only for the sisters with the less tense tresses or for the short period when your press or perm are fresh?  Maybe in another time and place, but today I reclaim my right to be beautiful, nappy hair and all!  I just wish I had done it sooner and gotten my “get out of hair-jail free card” a long time ago.

Therefore, for those who love me and are concerned and those who are nosy but too polite to ask, here is the deal—

  1. I am fine
  2. No, I will not look like this forever, as my lock date is 04/07/10, and I will have a whole new look for you to ponder about
  3. Yes, I intend to walk around like this and am not going to hide under hats and scarves for the duration
  4. No, I am not going to apologize for having nappy hair; I am no longer ashamed; it is what God gave me and I will rock it with pride

Whew, that feels good to get that off my chest! 

I am not trying to be belligerent, but I am standing up for my choice and holding my Nappy head High!  This is a time for me to just—be and not concern myself with presentability or acceptance by the mainstream.

I instead choose to be beautiful!

Leave a Reply

