I had my Consultation!


I spent 5 hours Friday night and 2 hours Saturday taking down my box braids.  My arms still ache.  My intention had been to have my hair braided again to take me to the last leg of my journey to Sisterlocks.  Why? Because I was afraid to wear my natural hair.

Let’s face it–my hair is cottony and shrinks to a tight, brillo-ey pattern at the first hint of moisture.  I would not be able to heat style my hair before the installation so I thought  I would hide under braids.  That was until I spent precious hours taking them out and dreaded having to do it again in a short amount of time–About 3 weeks!

So I washed my hair, colored the gray and got out the strong blow dryer.  Of course it was a rainy day, and windy so my nice little bob did not stay nice for long.  My hair started to shrink as soon as I left the house, but I was determined to go on.  On to my consultation!

I met with my certified Sisterlocks consultant, Ashlee at Locks4life in Oak Park, Michigan.  The shop was sunny and bright and filled with people with locs in all stages of growth.  There was even a little girl with Sisterlocks to her shoulders, whose mother locked her hair at 2 years old.

Ashlee looked at my hair, explained the process and installed 2 starter locs behind my right ear.  Now, I have had my hair braided many times, most times amidst pain (I am tender-headed).  I expected  much of the same.  But there was no pain.  She was done before I knew it!  Everyday I admire these little locs and am amazed.  Since my consultation, we have had a lot of rain and midst.  My hair has shrunk to a new level of tightness.  But my little starter locs have not changed in shape, exept to curl a little.  This is really promising to me.

Well, I have set my date for installation for April 9.  I have to wait a little because the cost is more than I can shell out just that soon.  But I am going forward and cannot wait for day.

I will post pics soon of the before, the during and the after so you can come along with me.

One Response to “I had my Consultation!”

  1. Welcome to WordPress, and thanks for visiting Klassi Kurlz. It is a liberating experience to be natural and free. You will rediscover true beauty, enjoy the journey. I am a few steps before you along the path and I am delighted to share my experience. Enjoy. Enjoy. Enjoy.

    Be happy to live, love, learn and laugh. KK

Leave a Reply

